Congratulations to the CHSS 2023 Celebration of Distinction awardees!

Each year, the George Mason University Alumni Association celebrates the achievements of Mason alumni at the annual Celebration of Distinction awards program. The Alumni Association recognizes five alumni for their outstanding professional achievements and service to Mason and honors the achievements of alumni from each school, college, and affinity chapter.  
The College of Humanities and Social Sciences is pleased to congratulate the CHSS alumni who will be recognized with a 2023 Celebration of Distinction award: 


Shaza L. Andersen (BA ‘89), Alumna of the Year Award 


Brandon O. Thompson (BS ’08), Alumni Service Award 

Sarah Godleski (BA ’04), CHSS Alum of the Year Award 


Paul Bernfeld (BA History ’14), The Green Machine Ensembles Distinguished Alumni Award 


LuLu Geza Kelemen (BA Integrative Studies (Individualized) ’11, MA Sociology and Anthropology ’15, Graduate Certificate Women’s Studies, ‘15), The Lambda Alumni Chapter Distinguished Alumni Award 


Andres Maldonado (MAIS Higher Education '12), The Latino Alumni Chapter Distinguished Alumni Award 


Troy Lowery (BA Environmental and Sustainability Studies (Environ. Policy) '15, MAIS '18), The Veterans Alumni Chapter Distinguished Alumni Award 


In addition to the alumni who will be recognized, Keith Renshaw, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education, will receive the Faculty Member of the Year Award.

“Every year Mason recognizes alumni, faculty, and students who make our institution proud through all the work they do in their communities and at Mason,” said Nikki Jerome Oullette (BS ’10, MPA ’13), director of CHSS alumni and community engagement. These awards are given to those whose work we want to highlight and celebrate, and I am thrilled that we are honoring so many CHSS alumni.

Learn more about all 2023 Celebration of Distinction Awardees.